Area Village Index


go back to the Previous Page  
Seven Sisters to the Ashdown Forest
Press Ctrl-D to add to Explorer or Firefox Favourites

Seven Sisters
Seven Sisters to the Ashdown Forest

We have named this area the Ashdown Forest to the Seven Sisters. It is located in the county of Sussex in the South East England. The Ashdown Forest lies north of the area, and the Seven Sisters is the name of the seven Chalk Cliffs that can be seen from the headland at Seaford , looking east towards Eastbourne .

The area is dominated by the South Downs which run along the coast, with their wild beauty and amazing vistas. To the north of the downs is an area which once were swamplands, but which are now very fertile farmlands.

The buildings in the Downland areas are mostly of flint construction due to the availablity of the flints from the chalk hills. Those of the northern area are of varied construction from Elizabethan mansions to modern houses.

The area has much to offer the visitors with quiet villages who lie off the main roads, small friendly public houses and many walks including the South Downs Way.


© 1998-2017 Top of Page
Page Last Updated: 2016-10-04 19:36:09
If you have any information, or comments on our site please E-Mail Villagenet
since 1998